No Tags! Food Fishery 2017

"There is little public appetite for tags."

No Tags! Food Fishery 2017

This Article is Brought to You By South Coast Insurance, Springdale

The Recreational Groundfish Fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador will start July 1. It will be open all weekends throughout July and August, and from July 15 to August 6 as well as from September 23 to October 1.

There will be a total of 46 fishing days.

In 2016 it was announced cod would have to be tagged in 2017. In November 2016, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans held a series of consultations — online and public meetings — to get public input on the proposed tagging. The tags proposal did not go over well. The people spoke. The Government listened. There will be no tags.

Recreational fishing licences in 2018, without the use of tags, are still being considered.


Food Fishery Dates ~

Summer Season
Saturday July 01, 2017 to Monday July 03, 2017
Saturday July 8, 2017 to Sunday July 09, 2017
Saturday, July 15, 2017 to Sunday, August 06, 2017,
Saturday, August 12, 2017 to Sunday, August 13, 2017
Saturday, August 19, 2017   to Sunday, August 20, 2017
Saturday, August 26, 2017 to Sunday, August 27, 2017
Saturday September 02, 2017 to Monday, September 04, 2017

Fall Season
Saturday, September 23, 2017 to Sunday, October 01, 2017

Fishery Details~

– The cod fishery is open to both residents and non-residents.

– There is a limit of 5 groundfish per day per person and a maximum of 15 fish per boat when 3 or more people are fishing.

– Only angling gear and handlines with a maximum of three hooks are allowed. Jiggers are not allowed unless they are modified and have only one hook. (Go to Regulations Page)

– You catch a cod, you keep the cod. Harvesters “are not authorized to discard groundfish, with the exception of Atlantic halibut and species at risk (i.e. northern and spotted wolfish).”

– Tour boat operators can apply for a licence for an increased trip limit. There would be reporting requirements.

More ~

– Find Full Details on the 2017 Ground Fishery
Government News Release on the Ground Fishery
Consultations Summary

 

[Image at top is a stock photo]

~~~